A Different Approach

I am checking in with myself to see if the changes that I initiated in January are making a difference. I do feel lighter and have a renewed sense of purpose. Life feels fresher, newer and has a bit of magic in each day. I continue my dedication to letting go of agendas, manipulations, and the attachment to an outcome.

Now I question everything that is on my ‘to do list’:

  • Why am I doing this?
  • Is this something that a person who is thriving would do?
  • Do I enjoy the person that I am spending time with or the activity that I am participating in? Does it still serve me or do I think someone expects me to do it?

The natural tendency is to release the old and replace it with something new. We tell ourselves that we are letting go of what we no longer want and are ready to accept a different form in it’s place. We spend time and effort getting clear about what we would like to have next. Here’s my punch list, Universe. Please fill it as soon as possible. The drawback to this type of thinking is that I am recreating the past and leave no space for something new. It assumes that I know every possible outcome and what is in my own best interests.

Maybe it is time to try a different approach. We know that it doesn’t work to repeat the same behaviors or say the same words and expect different results. Figuring out what to do next or how to do it can often cause conflict. What if I choose the wrong path? What if the new approach doesn’t work? What if I am rejected? Will I fail (again)?

When we achieve a goal or manifest something that we desire, there can be a moment of pleasure; but this feeling will fade as soon as we begin to focus on the next thing that we think will satisfy our needs. The ego has an insatiable appetite and will never stop seeking.

My idea is to completely change the way that we approach this year. Let go of trying to achieve something, prove that we are worthy, or think that we have to be more of anything.

In the Preface to A Course in Miracles, it says, “The ‘little I’ seeks to enhance itself by external approval, external possessions and external ‘love’. The Self that God created needs nothing. It is forever complete, safe, loved and loving. It seeks to share rather than to get; to extend rather than project. It has no needs and wants to join with others out of their mutual awareness of abundance.”

Let’s live as if we already have everything that we need. There is nothing to get, nothing to achieve and nothing to prove. If we can embrace this concept, it will change the way that we show up in the world.

Now we can begin to share or express our God qualities. We don’t have to seek love; we just have to share the love that is already within us. When we realize that there is nothing in the external world that will bring us happiness, life becomes a joyous adventure and is guided from our Self. Our only plan is to spend time in the stillness and listen. We will receive the guidance needed to fully express our gifts and talents.

Our job is also to be grateful that we have everything and are everything. We live our life knowing that there is an abundant supply of God just waiting to express through us. I am willing to live this way in 2012 and I invite you to join me on this journey.

One thought on “A Different Approach

  1. Karen,
    This is so clear and well-written. I need this reminder everyday. It’s the reason there’s 365 lesson in the book. Ya think:)

    There is nothing to get, nothing to achieve and nothing to prove. If I really took this in I’d always be in the present moment!

    Keep shining! xox

Leave a Reply

